

Dr Patrick Neill Medal

(Awarded to a distinguished Scottish botanist or cultivator)

Year	Name	Category	Background
1970	Prof. Douglas Henderson	Professional	Regius Keeper, RBGE
1972	Dr. Mary Noble	Professional	Seed Pathologist, East Craigs
1974	Mrs Elizabeth Sherriff	Professional	Plant Collector (Widow of Major George Sherriff)
1976	James Currie	Professional	Edinburgh Parks; chrysanthemum exhibitor
1978	Brian L. Burt	Professional	RBGE
1980	John Rae	Trade	Nurseryman at Biggar
1982	Miss Joan Mayhew	Professional	Gardening staff at Royal Edinburgh Hospital
1984	William F. Murray	Amateur	Gladioli exhibitor and hybridiser
1986	Craig M. Coussins	Amateur	Secretary Scottish Bonsai Association
1989	William Duncan	Professional	Parks Dept, Leven; exhibitor and judge
1991	Ron McBeath	Professional	Alpines, RBGE
1993	Jim Jermyn	Trade	Edrom Nurseries
1995	David Crawford	Amateur	President Scottish Sweet Pea Society
1997	Margaret Robertson	Amateur	Secretary. West Scot Hort Society
1999	Henry & Margaret Taylor	Amateur	Alpines, Scot. Rock Garden Club
2001	Patrick Woods	Professional	Orchids specialist, RBGE
2003	Evelyn Stevens	Professional	Taxonomy of Meconopsis cultivars
2004	Ronald McNicol	Professional	Soft fruit breeder
2005	Jack Dunnett	Professional	Potato Breeder
2006	lan McNaughton	Professional	Gentian Breeder
2007	David Long	Professional	RBGE
2008	Jim May	Professional	NTS



2009	Jim Davidson	Amateur	Daffodils
2010	Martin Gardner	Professional	RBGE
2012	Beryl McNaughton	Professional	Nurserywoman and show display designer
2013	Dr Mark Francis Watson	Professional	Botanist and lead on Major Flora research team
2014	lan Christie	Professional	Alpines
2016	Cyril Lafong	Amateur	Alpines
2018	Dr Henry J Noltie	Professional	RBGE
2021	Brian Ballinger	Amateur	BSS
2024	Philip Lusby	Professional	RBGE

