Caley Award Winner 2019


The Society issues a number of prestigious awards, medals and certificates of merit in recognition of the achievements of professional horticulturalists, nurserymen, amateur gardeners, student and apprentices.

The awards are open to anyone.  You do not need to be a Caley member to nominate someone for an award or to receive an award.

Nominations for this year have now closed.  Keep an eye on this page to find out who our Award winners are. The awards will be presented at our AGM which will take place on 5th March 2019.

Our Awards

The Scottish Horticultural Medal (SHM): An award first introduced in 1959 to mark the 150th anniversary of the Society. The award is strictly limited to a maximum of 50 recipients at any one time and is awarded to anyone, anywhere, who has made an outstanding service, by a professional or amateur to Scottish Horticulture.

The Dr Patrick Neill Memorial Medal: An award to a Scottish botanist or cultivator. This medal is awarded biennially and will next be presented in 2020. The medal was established in 1851 by Dr Patrick Neill, one of the Founders and the first Secretary of the Royal Caledonian Horticultural Society: he instigated the award of this medal to a distinguished Scottish botanist or cultivator and the bequest to sustain it.

The Queen Elizabeth, the Queen Mother Medal in Horticulture: Introduced in 1990 to mark the 90th birthday of the Society’s Patron, the Queen Mother. The medal is awarded for outstanding service by a non-professional.

The Dr Andrew Duncan Medal: Introduced in 2003 for distinguished service to horticulture by an educationalist, advisor or administrator.

Certificates of Merit: These awards were re-introduced in 2002 and acknowledge a wide range of service to gardening or horticulture.

Carter-Patterson Memorial Medal and Prize: An award to a high achieving horticulture student or apprentice.

Award Winners 2018

Award Winners 2018

2018 Award winners – click on the image to view the album.